Home Location Background Vineyard Wine cellar Wines Links

 

 

 

Commanderie de Preïssan
Sophie Gély-Cavalier
11590 Ouveillan - France
Phone : 00 33 4 68 46 81 03
info@commanderiedepreissan.com

 



The wine maker’s curriculum is a bit atypical since she only began her oenology education in Montpellier after finishing her pharmacy degree. This was once she became aware that her family’s marvellous winery wouldn’t survive unless she invested full-time in it and in a very professional manner.

 

 

However what was perhaps a marriage of convenience at first immediately became a revelation. Sophie GELY found it impossible to resist Bacchus’s song, with its subtle blend of her two passions, art and science

 


Once she obtained her degree in oenology she found it necessary to increase her knowledge of viticulture. Therefore she enrolled in the ENSAM in a CESA program. There she had another revelation: what a pleasure to drink in the words of Professer CHAMPAGNOL or Professer BOURSIQUOT, to understand that the vine is a living being and respecting it is the key to quality.

In 1995 she made her first wine, and discovered the fulfillment of communing with the raw material, shaping it to give birth to a wine. There followed four years of adaptation, where she took charge of everything and evaluated the potential. These four years enabled her to recognize that the soil at Preïssan is perfect for cultivating Grenache.

in 1999 she bottled her first vintage. What a joy knowing the consumer’s opinion, finding out that her cuvees, in which she invested a major part of herself, appeal to the consumer. Even though she didn’t have any big investors to back her the first year two articles appeared in the press (Terre de Vins - Vins & Gastronomie). Once concerned her second vintage, "Le Bailli" which was tasted and approved by ELLE magazine while her L'Âme de la Garrigue new cuvee 2001, was mentioned during the show "Don’t gulp it, savor it" by J.P. COFFE on France Inter as soon as it was on the shelves. He described it as "a very concentrated, pure Grenache, a great wine from the Commanderie de Preïssan".

This positive reception vindicated her choice to let her heart and passion speak by making wines resembling her using grenache grapes. It is the best encouragement and the greatest driving force for the future. Thank you to all who appreciate her work, your recognition is what fuels her.

Accueil Situation Patrimoine Vignoble Caveau Vins Liens

 

 

 

Commanderie de Preïssan
Sophie Gély-Cavalier
11590 Ouveillan - France
Téléphone : +33 (0) 4 68 46 81 03
info@commanderiedepreissan.com

 



Cursus un peu étrange pour ce vigneron qui n'entame sa formation d'oenologie à Montpellier qu'au terme de ses études de Pharmacie, quand il prend conscience que ce merveilleux domaine familial ne pourra vivre qu'en s'y consacrant à temps plein et de manière très professionnelle.

 

 

Mais ce qui fut, peut-être l'espace d'un instant, un mariage de raison devient, dès le premier contact, une révélation. Impossible de résister au chant de Bacchus, subtil mélange d'art et de science, les deux cordes sensibles de Sophie GELY.

 


Le D.N.O. en poche, il lui semble nécessaire d'approfondir ses connaissances en viticulture, elle intègre donc l'ENSAM dans le cadre d'un CESA. Nouvelle révélation : quel bonheur de pouvoir boire les paroles du Professeur CHAMPAGNOL ou du Professeur BOURSIQUOT, de saisir que la vigne est un être vivant dont le respect est l'élément essentiel à la qualité.

1995, première vinification, le bonheur de rentrer en communion avec la matière première, de la modeler pour donner naissance à un vin. Puis quatre années d'acclimatation, de prise en main, d'évaluation du potentiel, quatre années qui lui permettent de se rendre compte que Preïssan est un terroir de prédilection pour le Grenache.

1999, premier millésime en bouteille, l'immense joie de connaître le sentiment du consommateur, de savoir que ces cuvées, où il y une part d'elle, touchent. Dès la première année, alors qu'elle n'a aucun gros investisseurs derrière elle, paraissent deux articles de presse (Terre de Vins - Vins & Gastronomie), pour son deuxième millésime, " Le Bailli " est bu et approuvé par le magazine ELLE et L'Âme de la garrigue nouvelle cuvée 2001, sitôt commercialisé, est qualifié au cours de l'émission "Ça se bouffe pas ça se mange" de J.P. COFFE sur France Inter de "Grand vin de la Commanderie de Preïssan : un Grenache pur très concentré".

Cet accueil favorable, qui donne raison à son choix - laisser parler son cœur, sa passion, en faisant des vins qui lui ressemblent à partir de Grenache - est le plus beau des encouragements et le plus fabuleux des moteurs pour l'avenir. Alors, merci à vous tous qui appréciez son travail, car votre reconnaissance est son énergie.